Vegan Gyoza

image

On one of my Asian food market runs I finally picked up some gyoza skins. I’ve make them by hand before but the filling, wrapping, and cooking is a lot of work in itself so I thought I’d give myself a bit of a break. Filling: Dried or Fresh Shitake Cabbage Ginger Green Onion Soy sauce (I used Thai mushroom soy, it’s much sweeter) Chili Garlic sauce Sesame Oil Mirin Dipping Sauce: Soy sauce Garlic Sesame oil Rice Vinegar Mirin Green Onion So if you don’t have any of the ingredients no worries, the filling has endless possibilities. Just throw in what you have, unless you wish to stock up on asian essentials (mostly japanese). Soak dried Shitake and save soaking water. Chop the cabbage finely and add to hot skillet with sesame oil and finely diced Shitake. Add all the seasonings as desired and allow to cook through. Chop the green onion into thin rounds and add a generous amount to pan after turning of burner and stir to combine. That’s all for the filling. Add a tablespoon of filling to the center of a gyoza skin. Use shitake soaking water (if you used dried shitake) or plain water to lightly wet the outer half of the skin for folding. The filling may seem stuffed and like it may fall out but just keep pinching the edges halfway around the gyoza skin (reference picture). Repeat for all filling. For cooking a non-stick skillet with a lid is best but I made due with my old skillet and a large dinner plate as a makeshift lid. Place gyoza in skillet in a circular pattern generously oiling the skillet prior if it is not non-stick. Allow to cook till bottoms are browned. Add about a quater to half cup liquid using remaining soaking water if available. Cover quickly to trap steam and allow liquid to cook off. For the sauce combine ingredients till desired taste, I wouldn’t go heavy on the mirin it’s a bit sweet. And you are ready to serve and eat 😀 well worth the effort, right??

About Candy Kisses

I'm an aspiring designer who one day wishes to move to New York and make it big! As of now I work at a restaurant near my apartment in pittsburgh to make ends meet while running a small business called Candy Kiss Couture, on etsy consisting of my designs, and crafts at www.candykisscouture.etsy.com. I love all things beauty, fashion, and glamour as well as all things Art ^.^ Also an interesting tid bit about myself: I love to play dress up, cause I'll never be too old for that! I am fascinated by glitter, shiny things, lace, neon colors, pastel colors, alright colors in general. I guess that's more than enough about me we'll get to know each other as I blog. Thanks for checking my page out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegan Gyoza

  1. cht7 says:

    Love gyoza! These look fantastic. Hope you enjoyed them!

  2. dena miller says:

    OMG!!!!!!!This looks so amazingly Yummy!!!!!! Lets get together and make sum yum yum dumplings♥

Leave a Reply

