Picnic Season

The weather outside has been beautiful lately which in turn makes me feel the need to picnic! I love picnics but sometimes it’s a pain in the butt to remember everything I need and carrying it all to the park with me (I walk and bus everywhere). Ok so, maybe the boy does most of the work carrying but still I get everything ready šŸ˜›

Anyhow I’ve been looking up picnic supplies and diy tutorials for them. I found this really need picnic backpack that retails for about $120+ which I find a little steep when I could easily revamp Adam’s current backpack or buy one for 20-30 bucks and make it awesome. I even considered making my own backpack completely but I actually find it more economic and simpler to just revamp with supplies I’ve got already for the most part.

Here’s the backpack

Icky colors >.< but a very cool concept. I'm going to make a few changes to the backpack such as putting two 750 ml insulated wine bottle holders on each side of the backpack (the boi and I have opposite favorites in wine though we'll end up drinking each others anyhow) and put a blanket holder on the base of the backpack so the blanket can be a bit bigger. I will also make padded pockets for the wine glasses so I can put glass ones in instead of plastic ones which can't be good for the wines flavor. And much nicer fabric for the napkins and blanket etc. I probably will make room for a little bit bigger of a wooden cutting board as well. I'm planning on putting a tutorial up that should be quite simple.

As far as the picnic blanket goes I'm going to make a waterproof backed "Game Board" blanket. I was looking up picnic blanket tutorials and found one I love! I don't like the colors or design so I will be completely changing that but love the concept of a checker/chess board in the middle of the blanket.

I’m really excited to make this because of how simple it will be. I will definitely make it look less at home craft project. I also won’t be adding bingo or tic tac toe which is nice for children but I’m not into all that. I’m not putting pockets in either because I don’t like the look of the border and I can simply put the game pieces in a pouch and give them a place in the backpack. I’ll post pictures of the final product. You can find this tutorial here.

And for those of you who are vegetarians like me check out some of these yummy picnic recipes. And also if you utilize the grill at the park like I’m going to this summer check out this link for some amazing ideas. And don’t forget grilled peaches and pineapple with whipped cream or marzcarpone cheese topping, Yum! Happy Picnicing šŸ˜€

About Candy Kisses

I'm an aspiring designer who one day wishes to move to New York and make it big! As of now I work at a restaurant near my apartment in pittsburgh to make ends meet while running a small business called Candy Kiss Couture, on etsy consisting of my designs, and crafts at www.candykisscouture.etsy.com. I love all things beauty, fashion, and glamour as well as all things Art ^.^ Also an interesting tid bit about myself: I love to play dress up, cause I'll never be too old for that! I am fascinated by glitter, shiny things, lace, neon colors, pastel colors, alright colors in general. I guess that's more than enough about me we'll get to know each other as I blog. Thanks for checking my page out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Picnic Season

  1. Ladybroccoli says:

    You should really check out target for the plates, bowls, and cups for this. They have the hard plastics in a variety of bright colors and they are sturdy. I bought a set of small cups and large ones that were on clearance for .98 cents for 4!!!!! The big cups were black and the small ones were red and they had a hawiian theme etched in them of the same color…oh and I got the matching black bowls same price and quantity.

  2. Candy Kisses says:

    Love target ā¤ my boi works there, so sometimes I practically live there šŸ˜› I'll have to go check it out.

Leave a Reply

