Hair Plumage 2

So I put in my feather hair extension on Friday. I tried to record a video tutorial but the weather is so gloomy in Pittsburgh this weekend that the lighting didn’t come out. It’s really rather simple though.

I bought the feathers from the etsy shop I mentioned in my first post about the extensions and the micro links from ebay seller pennyk20675.

I would suggest going to a store that has fly fishing supplies rather than online the feathers I bought were a overpriced. When you are looking for the feathers they are called rooster hackle feathers and are long and thin. You can also use the kool-aid method of dying them if you’d like a funky color. As for the microlnks they are small metal crimp beads that are really inexpensive I got 1,000 for $4 and only needed one though I may use more in the future. They come with a small latch hook to put through the link, grasp the hair, then pull it through the link. After that you just push the feathers next to the hair inside the link then take pliers and squish it closed. I used a small piece of scotch tape to attach the feathers together so they would be easier to put through the link.

This is the end result. I straightened the feathers in this picture. They are just like real hair in the sense you can wash, dry, curl, or flat iron them. Hope this helps if you’re looking into getting them.

About Candy Kisses

I'm an aspiring designer who one day wishes to move to New York and make it big! As of now I work at a restaurant near my apartment in pittsburgh to make ends meet while running a small business called Candy Kiss Couture, on etsy consisting of my designs, and crafts at www.candykisscouture.etsy.com. I love all things beauty, fashion, and glamour as well as all things Art ^.^ Also an interesting tid bit about myself: I love to play dress up, cause I'll never be too old for that! I am fascinated by glitter, shiny things, lace, neon colors, pastel colors, alright colors in general. I guess that's more than enough about me we'll get to know each other as I blog. Thanks for checking my page out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hair Plumage 2

  1. Cassie says:

    Did your micro links take FOREVER to come from Ebay? I ordered them from the same store you did I think and they’re taking a longggg time. Granted, they’re coming from Hong Kong. Just thought I’d ask how long yours took!

Leave a Reply

