Size Matters

I was looking through design sponge scholarship submissions and came across something I fell in love with a GIGUNDUS crochet rug. Instead of the traditional crochet rug where you work in a round it’s made in a lacey flower pattern.

(photo via design sponge)

I’m definitely going to be making one of these out of some of the t-shirts I’m getting rid of. I am currently purging my closet as best as I can and am finding different ways to reuse the material. One of them being a random fabric quilt I saw on Martha Stewarts handmade gift guide.

I need to buy a giant crochet hook to make a giant rag rug and I think I found the one I want on etsy.

It’s a 6″ wooden crochet hook the biggest size I normally use is probably 1/4″ so it should be interesting to work with. This is the etsy shop that has it.

I also found a blog post here on how to crochet a rag rug. I’ll be using this technique of cutting the t-shirts to make yarn just thicker than they did.

For the design of the rug itself I’ll most likely use a crochet flower pattern from my book “Stitch and Bitch: Happy Hooker” It’s a great crochet book and I highly recommend it! The flower in the book is a small brooch sized flower but made with the large needles and thick yarn will turn out huge hopefully. I’ll post it when I get started on it. Should be really fun!

About Candy Kisses

I'm an aspiring designer who one day wishes to move to New York and make it big! As of now I work at a restaurant near my apartment in pittsburgh to make ends meet while running a small business called Candy Kiss Couture, on etsy consisting of my designs, and crafts at www.candykisscouture.etsy.com. I love all things beauty, fashion, and glamour as well as all things Art ^.^ Also an interesting tid bit about myself: I love to play dress up, cause I'll never be too old for that! I am fascinated by glitter, shiny things, lace, neon colors, pastel colors, alright colors in general. I guess that's more than enough about me we'll get to know each other as I blog. Thanks for checking my page out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Size Matters

  1. Avalon says:

    This rug is amazing! I am so pumped to make it. I was just wondering if you ever got started on it. More specifically, how thick do you reckon the t-shirts have to be cut for such a big hook and thick rug?

  2. Candy Kisses says:

    I would say 3-4 inch strips I haven’t gotten a chance to start crocheting I have all the t-shirts but haven’t had the money to get the crochet hook. Let me know how it turns out I’d love to see it!

  3. Candy Kisses says:

    I just started making this rug and ended up just using my hand instead of a hook and cut the strps 3 inch wide 🙂 though it takes 1 tshirt per round at least D:

Leave a Reply

