Band Geek Spirit Never Dies

Finally! I can post my military inspired shoulder pad tutorial. I’ve been waiting to do this forever! Okay maybe only a couple of weeks but that seems like forever to me, life passes quickly. On with the tutorial.

Materials: – Any fabric you prefer, I used a velvet fabric to match the mini dress I made.
– Shoulder pad, mine were recycled from a suit jacket I had.
– Cording to coordinate with your material, I used two one not pictured because I ran out of one.
– Fringe any length and color you like.
– Four pin backings (not pictured)
– Thread in fabric color
– hand needle
– sewing machine or hand needle if you do not have one
– scissors

Fold material in half. Place shoulder pad on fold and trace. Cut two leaving seam allowance of 1/2 an inch.

This is what the pieces look like. Sew around raw edge of piece while folded good sides together leaving a two inch opening for shoulder pad.

Take the fabric and pull from inside of opening until right side is out. Insert shoulder pa into opening. Sew opening closed folding raw edges in so they are not visible. It may look a bit different since you are top stitching on the outside of the fabric but you will be sewing trim over it anyhow.

Pin fringe to edge of fabric covered shoulder pad.

Sew over the top of fringe to attach to shoulder pad.

Pin trim over edge of fringe. Hand sew trim if it s like mine and will not fend well under a machine needle. I sewed this trim on the front and a beaded trim across the straight back part of the shoulder pad.

Sew pins in place as pictured.

Pin to your favorite outfit and you’re done! There are some examples in my previous post “Fringe Benefits” if you’d like to see more variations.

Happy Crafting ^.^

About Candy Kisses

I'm an aspiring designer who one day wishes to move to New York and make it big! As of now I work at a restaurant near my apartment in pittsburgh to make ends meet while running a small business called Candy Kiss Couture, on etsy consisting of my designs, and crafts at www.candykisscouture.etsy.com. I love all things beauty, fashion, and glamour as well as all things Art ^.^ Also an interesting tid bit about myself: I love to play dress up, cause I'll never be too old for that! I am fascinated by glitter, shiny things, lace, neon colors, pastel colors, alright colors in general. I guess that's more than enough about me we'll get to know each other as I blog. Thanks for checking my page out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

