Thigh High Garter Tutorial

So I haven’t done a post in a week because I misplaced my camera cord D: but good news ts found 😀 And in the time I lost in I took plenty of pics for tutorials and posts ^.^

A few weeks ago I posted about those sexy little things called sock garters which I love! I was going to make a pair of those but decided I’d get more use out of the thigh high ones during the winter. Plus haven’t seen anyone make the thigh high garters like these yet. On with the tutorial.

Materials you’ll need: 1″ elastic, 3/4″ elastic, Scissors, Matching thread, and Garter clasps

You’re going to first take the 1″ elastic and measure around your thigh where you want the garters to sit. Make sure it fits snugly but you still have about a 1/4″ seam allowance. Cut two of these.

Next cut four strips of 3/4″ elastic roughly 3 1/2″

Then fold 1″ elastic pieces in half good sides together and sew along raw edge.

Sew the seam open so it lays flat like this. Push the seam open then sew back and fourth along top an bottom edge a few times to reinforce seam.

Place 3/4″ elastic over the 1″ elastic and fold 1/2″ of raw edge over. Sew along top and bottom of where the 2/4″ meets the 1″ elastic to keep in place. Repeat on opposite side of garter.

When sewing the 3/4″ elastic be sure to pin in place while sewing. It will shift and be crooked if you don’t.

Then fold 3/4″ elastic edge over the garter clasps open end and sew in place. Repeat on other piece of elastic.

This is where you should be sewing.

Repeat all steps for second garter and there you have it! Super simple, functional, as well as sexy garters to hold up your thigh high tights. You can wear them showing or move them up a bit to just show the clasps and not the top band. You can also have them on front and back or wear them on the sides.

You can also add bows, lace, gems, or vinyl cut outs to them. The possibilities are endless.

For the thigh highs in the picture I simply took a pair of old tights, tried them on, measured where I wanted them, snipped them, took them off, and cut them at the mark.

Hope you enjoyed my first sewing tutorial. If you make them please let me know, I’d love to see them! Next sewing tutorial is those military style shoulder pads with fringe I posted about.

About Candy Kisses

I'm an aspiring designer who one day wishes to move to New York and make it big! As of now I work at a restaurant near my apartment in pittsburgh to make ends meet while running a small business called Candy Kiss Couture, on etsy consisting of my designs, and crafts at www.candykisscouture.etsy.com. I love all things beauty, fashion, and glamour as well as all things Art ^.^ Also an interesting tid bit about myself: I love to play dress up, cause I'll never be too old for that! I am fascinated by glitter, shiny things, lace, neon colors, pastel colors, alright colors in general. I guess that's more than enough about me we'll get to know each other as I blog. Thanks for checking my page out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thigh High Garter Tutorial

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review | Candy Kisses

Leave a Reply

