Why So Serious?

I’ve happened upon a new designer recently who doesn’t take fashion too seriously and makes it fun. I love the idea of taking things “too literal” in terms of fashion because it’s so unheard of. You’ve got to know the rules to break them so why not be a high end label designer for the stars and do what ever the hell you want to do? Sounds good to me. The designer I’m talking about is Jeremy Scott. Here’s on of my favorite pieces of this season.

How amazing is this? It is so literal when the sleeves are out but when the arms are down it looks like a chic sweater. It makes my life a little better.

Here’s the back ❤ I want it! This collection is all black and white though and I get so bored of black in fashion *sigh* but I do love this collection for the creativity of it. In other work of his there are bold colors an patterns which I love. Everything he makes is fun and has an almost cartoon like sense to it. Some of the pieces in his past collections run the border of being “costumey” but who’s to say what you can and can’t wear as everyday clothing? He’s also great at construction and fit which these next example displays. I love this piece that seems reminiscent of Betsey Johnson’s work whom I also admire greatly.

And this last piece from this seasons collection I want to share with you makes me sooo happy. It’s definitely more art than wearable because of functionality, not sure how you would sit and stand in it? Either way its so creative and fun!

A wooden silhouette belted to a little black dress. I’ve definitely never seen this before! My boyfriend looked at this and was like “Why?” I just said “Because he can.” Art is what you can get away with in Andy Warhol’s words.

About Candy Kisses

I'm an aspiring designer who one day wishes to move to New York and make it big! As of now I work at a restaurant near my apartment in pittsburgh to make ends meet while running a small business called Candy Kiss Couture, on etsy consisting of my designs, and crafts at www.candykisscouture.etsy.com. I love all things beauty, fashion, and glamour as well as all things Art ^.^ Also an interesting tid bit about myself: I love to play dress up, cause I'll never be too old for that! I am fascinated by glitter, shiny things, lace, neon colors, pastel colors, alright colors in general. I guess that's more than enough about me we'll get to know each other as I blog. Thanks for checking my page out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

