Pamper Yourself

Today’s one of those days I feel like I need a mental break from all the stresses of life. I normally have a bad habit of putting too much on my plate. So today I’m going to share with you my DIY spa faves for a day of relaxation an beauty. Nothing picks me up more than looking an feeling beautiful!

The first thing I like to start off with is my hair. I normally do an olive oil treatment once a week.

Oil Treatment:

Grab yourself a towel to wrap your hair in. Next find a container with a tight fitting lid. You can boil water but I prefer the lazy method of microwaving it. After the water is hot add equal parts of the hot water and olive oil (enough to cover hair 1/4 cup to 1 1/2 cups normally). If you would like at this point you can add other essential oils for aromatherapy or rose water for added conditioning. There are many other options when it comes to making this treatment such as herbs and flower petals but I like to keep mine simple. Shake contents of container and apply to hair focusing on ends. Get your towel head dress goin and let soak in for a bit while you try out some of these other spa treatments. IMPORTANT: Add shampoo to hair before water when washing out or oil will be difficult to remove.

Next I like to get my face glowing and soft.

Face Exfoliant:

A simple trick for exfoliating your face is to mix a small amount of lemon juice with some table sugar and apply to face using a cotton ball. Rinse face to remove mixture and leave your skin feeling refreshed!

Face Mask:

There are tons of recipes out there for DIY face masks but I like to keep it as simple as possible. An asian secret to beautiful skin an hair is Seaweed. All that sushi does those girls wonders 😉 So for a quick and clean face mask you can purchase nori sheets from your local grocery store. I get mine from Walmart in a large pack called “fun sushi rolls” it’s cute packaging too hahaha Just take a sheet an soak it in warm water for about two minutes and place on your face. If you would like you can cut eye holes after the sheet is soft from soaking.

On to the mani pedi! What would a spa day be without em..

Mani/Pedi:

1. Remove any traces of nail polish and wash hands to remove excess oils.

2. Massage a good smelling lotion onto hands and cuticles to moisturize.

3. Use rubbing alcohol or nail polish remover on nail beds to remove excess lotion.

4. File and shape nails with a crystal or glass nail file preferably or anything but the thin card board ones (bad for your nails).

5. Push back cuticles with an angled orange stick. I suggest not removing cuticles because this is unhealthy and can cause infection.

6. Apply a base coat, favorite polish color, and top coat allowing to dry between coats. If you prefer natural nails buff with a four way buffer.

7.  After polish is fully dry apply a cuticle oil to cuticle area.

I picked this polish up at Walgreen’s the other day. The brand is sinful colors and they have tons of fun colors for only two bucks!

Lastly I enjoy filling the bathroom with steam from running hot water in the shower with the door closed. This is a holistic method of relaxation and cleansing the body of toxins. I also enjoy rubbing a small amount of lavender essential oil on my temples for aromatherapy. After your relaxation session you may wash your hair of your oil treatment adding shampoo to your hair BEFORE water if you haven’t already done so.

Now it’s as if you just came back from a spa retreat all glowing.  Leave comments below of your DIY spa days and your favorite recipes ^.^ I’d love to hear some suggestions.

About Candy Kisses

I'm an aspiring designer who one day wishes to move to New York and make it big! As of now I work at a restaurant near my apartment in pittsburgh to make ends meet while running a small business called Candy Kiss Couture, on etsy consisting of my designs, and crafts at www.candykisscouture.etsy.com. I love all things beauty, fashion, and glamour as well as all things Art ^.^ Also an interesting tid bit about myself: I love to play dress up, cause I'll never be too old for that! I am fascinated by glitter, shiny things, lace, neon colors, pastel colors, alright colors in general. I guess that's more than enough about me we'll get to know each other as I blog. Thanks for checking my page out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

